Invisio invests in insurance coverage for Flying Study Nurses

Mannheim study services provider assumes responsibility for company and professional liability insurance contributions for study assistants they work with.

“Invisio Clinical Studies Consulting carries out national and international clinical studies with the support of more than 100 trained study assistants, and we would like to ensure they have the best-possible coverage while performing their tasks,” says Managing Director Florian Schnabel. Invisio went searching, therefore, for a partner who was able to offer them company and professional liability insurance specifically tailored to the work of study assistants, and they found it in a large international insurance company. “Together,” Florian Schnabel explains, “we have created a product that provides study assistants with the most comprehensive basic insurance possible. It covers three cases annually: personal injury, material damage and financial losses. The insured amount adds up to a lump sum of three million euros a year.” If the study assistants take out such a contract, the study services provider assumes responsibility for the ensuing costs. The insurance applies personally to each Invisio Flying Study Nurse. This means that they are also insured if a claim occurs while working on projects for other clients.

 

Protection of private assets

Why did the Mannheim-based company take this step? “Invisio itself is insured against a wide range of damage and losses,” says Schnabel. “However, our insurance does not cover our Invisio Flying Study Nurses in all cases, as they are often not our permanent employees. This means that they, as well as other self-employed persons, run the risk of being personally liable for any damages that occur during their daily work if they do not have appropriate insurance cover. We would like to counteract this.” When it comes to liability issues, he adds, it is also a big advantage for sponsors and CROs if both Invisio as a company and every Invisio Flying Study Nurse is personally insured.
From the company’s perspective, it is important that study assistants are protected against both property damage and personal injury. It is always possible for minor mishaps to occur during the hustle and bustle of everyday life – with high subsequent costs. Even Invisio Flying Study Nurses are not immune to accidentally spilling coffee on a laptop keyboard while working in the test center or clumsily knocking over a valuable floor vase in the hallway during a patient visit. “Another classic example is the loss of keys or key cards”, says Florian Schnabel. “If the entire locking system of a study center needs to be replaced, the invoice can easily amount to several thousand euros. It can hurt a lot to have to pay these amounts from private assets.”.

Educational work necessary

Designing the contents of the insurance in detail was a time-consuming process – especially as the job description of the Flying Study Nurse is relatively unknown. Florian Schnabel needed to talk to many insurers to find and design the right insurance for his needs, and in some cases quite a lot of educational work was required. “Working together with our current partner, we were able to create a product to meet the needs of this modern profession from our point of view”, says the Managing Director, stating that the company and professional liability insurance was well received.

Has this article made you curious?

If you have any questions or require detailed information on company and professional liability insurance, please contact the Managing Director, Florian Schnabel

invisio_160_w
Schedule a consultation
Do not hesitate to contact us.

Invisio Clinical Studies Consulting UG
Harrlachweg 1
68163 Mannheim
Germany

Email: info@invisio.eu
Phone: +49 (0)621 / 180 685 940
Fax: +49 (0)621 / 180 685 949

We bring together study assistants and doctors, analyze and optimize your study portfolio, define compliant workflows and manage multi-center studies in the European Union.

Copyright © 2021 Invisio Clinical Studies Consulting

Unverbindliches Beratungsgespräch vereinbaren

Schedule a consultation

X
X

Invisio investiert in Versicherungsschutz von Invisio Flying Study Nurses

Mannheimer Studiendienstleister übernimmt Beiträge für Betriebs- und Berufshaftpflichtversicherung von Studienassistenten, mit denen er zusammenarbeitet.

„Invisio Clinical Studies Consulting realisiert nationale und internationale klinische Studien mit der Unterstützung von mehr als 100 ausgebildeten Studienassistenten und wir möchten, dass diese bei ihrer Tätigkeit weitestgehend abgesichert sind“, sagt Geschäftsführer Florian Schnabel. Daher hat Invisio einen Partner gesucht, der eine explizit auf die Tätigkeiten von Studienassistenten zugeschnittene Betriebs- und Berufshaftpflichtversicherung anbieten kann – und diesen in einem großen internationalen Versicherungsunternehmen gefunden. „Gemeinsam haben wir ein Produkt geschaffen, das den Studienassistenten eine möglichst umfassende Grundabsicherung gewährt. Es deckt jährlich drei Fälle von Personen-, Sach- und Vermögensschäden ab, wobei sich die Versicherungssumme pauschal auf drei Millionen Euro im Jahr beläuft“, erklärt Florian Schnabel. Schließen die Studienassistenten einen entsprechenden Vertrag ab, übernimmt der Studiendienstleister die entstehenden Kosten. Die Versicherung gilt grundsätzlich für jede Invisio Flying Study Nurse persönlich. Das heißt: Sie ist auch dann versichert, wenn der Schadensfall bei Projekten für andere Auftraggeber eintritt.

Schutz des Privatvermögens

Warum ist das Mannheimer Unternehmen diesen Schritt gegangen? „Invisio selbst ist gegen verschiedenste Schäden abgesichert. Allerdings kommt unsere Versicherung nicht in allen Schadensfällen für unsere Invisio Flying Study Nurses auf, da diese häufig keine Festangestellten von uns sind. Daher besteht für sie, wie für andere Selbstständige auch, das Risiko, ohne entsprechenden Versicherungsschutz für Schäden im Arbeitsalltag mit ihrem Privatvermögen zu haften. Dem möchten wir entgegenwirken“, sagt Schnabel. Er ergänzt, dass es mit Blick auf Haftungsfragen auch für Sponsoren und CROs von großem Vorteil ist, wenn sowohl Invisio als Unternehmen als auch jede Invisio Flying Study Nurse persönlich versichert sei.

Aus Sicht des Unternehmers ist es wichtig, dass Studienassistenten neben Personen- auch gegen Sachschäden abgesichert sind. Denn in der Hektik des Alltags könne es immer wieder zu kleinen Missgeschicken mit hohen Folgekosten kommen. Auch Invisio Flying Study Nurses seien nicht davor gefeit, bei ihrer Arbeit im Prüfzentrum versehentlich Kaffee über die Tastatur des Laptops zu verschütten oder durch eine ungeschickte Bewegung während eines Patientenbesuchs die wertvolle Bodenvase im Hausflur umzustoßen. „Ein weiteres klassisches Beispiel ist der Verlust von Schlüsseln oder Schließkarten. Muss deswegen die gesamte Schließanlage des Studienzentrums ausgetauscht werden, beläuft sich die Rechnung schnell auf mehrere Tausend Euro. Es schmerzt häufig, diese Summen aus den privaten Rücklagen zu zahlen“, sagt Florian Schnabel.

Aufklärungsarbeit nötig

Den Inhalt der Versicherung im Detail auszuarbeiten sei ein zeitintensiver Prozess gewesen – insbesondere aufgrund des noch recht unbekannten Berufsbildes der Flying Study Nurse. Um die für seine Ansprüche passende Versicherung zu finden und zu gestalten, hat Florian Schnabel mit vielen Versicherern gesprochen und hier und da noch Aufklärungsarbeit leisten müssen. „Mit unserem jetzigen Partner konnten wir gemeinsam ein Produkt auf die Beine stellen, dass den Anforderungen an diesen modernen Beruf aus unserer Sicht gerecht wird.“, meint der Geschäftsführer und gibt an, dass die Betriebs- und Berufshaftpflichtversicherung gut angenommen werde.

Der Beitrag hat Sie neugierig gemacht?

Für Rückfragen und detaillierte Information zur Betriebs- und Berufshaftpflichtversicherung steht Ihnen Geschäftsführer Florian Schnabel zur Verfügung.

invisio_160_w
Vereinbaren Sie ein Beratungsgespräch
Zögern Sie nicht, uns zu kontaktieren.

Invisio Clinical Studies Consulting UG
Harrlachweg 1
68163 Mannheim
Deutschland

E-Mail: info@invisio.eu
Tel.: +49 (0)621 / 180 685 940
Fax: +49 (0)621 / 180 685 949

Wir bringen Studienassistenten und Ärzte zusammen, analysieren und optimieren Ihr Studienportfolio, definieren rechtssichere Abläufe und leiten Multicenter-Studien in der Europäischen Union.

Copyright © 2021 Invisio Clinical Studies Consulting

Unverbindliches Beratungsgespräch vereinbaren

X
X